Thursday, October 4, 2007

Gov. Gregoire Announces First Innovation Partnership Zones

Governor Gregoire announced the designation of 11 Innovation Partnership Zones in Washington, geographic areas that will promote and develop the state’s regional economies of which the Foss Innovation Partnership Zone was a contender.

Innovation Partnership Zones build on the success around the world of “research parks,” such as the Research Triangle in North Carolina and Torrey Pines in California and bring together research and higher education opportunities, innovation and economic activity to be a strong engine for regional economies.

Washington is home to some of the greatest innovations in the world and I am excited to support the continued success of our state’s world-class companies, said Governor Gregoire. We’ve seen what can happen when we bring together research, training and commerce, put them in a beaker and shake - Innovation Partnership Zones will be powerful economic engines to support our regional economies.

The five designees were selected to receive grants totaling $4,275,000, allocated in the 2007-2009 capital budget, to jump-start development activities.

The Innovation Partnership Zones legislation calls for successful applicants to be awarded the designation of an Innovation Partnership Zone. Five of these applicants were also awarded grants, which may be used for such expenses as shared infrastructure, telecommunications, equipment or construction, and up to 10 percent for administration.

The applicants receiving the Innovation Partnership Zone designation are:
Aerospace Convergence Zone, Workforce Development Council Snohomish County.
Battelle, Sequim Marine Research Operations, Clallam Economic Development Council.
Bellingham Innovation Zone, Port of Bellingham – grant recipient.
Bothell Biomedical Manufacturing Corridor, City of Bothell.
Discovery Corridor Innovation Zone/Steinmueller Innovation Park, Columbia River Economic Development Council.
Grays Harbor Sustainable Industries Innovation Partnership Zone, Port of Grays Harbor – grant recipient.
Pullman Innovation Partnership Zone, Port of Whitman Countygrant recipient.
South Lake Union Life Science Innovation Partnership Zone, City of Seattle, Office of Economic Development.
Spokane University District Innovation Partnership Zone, Greater Spokane Inc. – grant recipient.
Tri-Cities Innovation Zone, Port of Benton.
Walla Walla Valley Innovation Partnership Zone, City of Walla Wallagrant recipient.

Governor Gregoire’s Web Site: More Information

No comments:

Post a Comment